II Bariatric Endoscopy Live Global

Live broadcasts of Bariatric Endoscopy demonstrations from leading centers around the world!

Save the date

October 1st, 2021

14 Centers of Excellence

5 Continents

More informations soon.

Watch the event


If you have already registered

WATCH LIVE

Not registered yet? Click here!







About the event


Join us for the latest innovation in Bariatric Endoscopy teaching!

BELG (Bariatric Endoscopy Live Global) is a medical-scientific meeting focused on bariatric and metabolic endoscopic therapies and management of post-surgical events of bariatric surgery.

Courses will be held in English (with simultaneous translation to portuguese and spanish) on Friday, October 1st, 2021.

Looking forward to meeting you ONLINE on October 1st.

Participating in the online event is free of charge.

Confirmed Centers

  • Boston, USA
  • Brussels, Belgium
  • Cairo, Egypt
  • Colorado, USA
  • Florida, USA
  • West Virginia, USA
  • Mumbai, India
  • New York, USA
  • Petach Tikva, Israel
  • Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
  • Rochester, USA
  • Rome, Italy
  • São Paulo, Brazil
  • Strasbourg, France
  • 25

    experts in the field will moderate the sessions of the event.

  • 14

    centers of excellence will be present at the event.

  • 5

    All continents will be represented in BELG.

Invitations


Partnership


Cultural Support


Faculty


Directors

  • Director of the Gastrointestinal Endoscopy Unit of the Hospital das Clínicas of FMUSP.
  • Associate Professor in Gastroenterology Department of University of Sao Paulo Medical School (FMUSP), São Paulo, Brazil.

Prof. Eduardo G. H. de Moura

MD, MSc, PhD

Brazil

  • Director of Endoscopy, Co-director of Center for Weight Management and Wellness, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston, MA
  • Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School, Boston, MA
  • Founding and Former Chair of Association for Bariatric Endoscopy (ABE)

Prof. Christopher C. Thompson

MD, MSc, AGAF, FASGE, FACG

United States

Co-directors

  • Associate Professor – Gastroenterology Department - Hospital das Clínicas da Faculdade de Medicina da Universidade de São Paulo
  • Postdoctoral Research Fellowship – Brigham and Women‘s Hospital – Harvard Medical School
  • President of the Young Endoscopy Group – Brazilian Gastrointestinal Endoscopy Society (SOBED)

Prof. Diogo T. H. de Moura

MD, MSc, PhD

Brazil

  • Associate Professor, Department of Gastroenterology, FMUSP
  • Honorary Member of the American Society for Gastrointestinal Endoscopy

Prof. Paulo Sakai

MD, MSc, PhD, FASGE

Brazil

  • Director of Endoscopy Unit in Humanitas Research Hospital

Alessandro Repici

MD, PhD

Italy

  • Emeritus Professor - Dept of Surgery, MUHS
  • Chairman BIDS, Global hospital
  • Dean - Indian College of Endoscopy
  • Past President - Society of GI Endoscopy of India

Amit Maydeo

MS, FASGE

India

  • CEO and medical director - New You Medical Center
  • Professor of Bariatric and Minimally Invasive Surgery, KSU
  • Past President - Pan Arab Society for Metabolic & Bariatric Surgery (PASMBS)

Prof. Aayed Alqahtani

FRCS, FACS

Saudi Arabia

  • Associate Professor in School of Medicine, University of Colorado

Shelby Sullivan

MD

United States

Faculty - Live Cases

  • Associate Professor – Gastroenterology Department - Hospital das Clínicas da Faculdade de Medicina da Universidade de São Paulo
  • Postdoctoral Research Fellowship – Brigham and Women‘s Hospital – Harvard Medical School
  • President of the Young Endoscopy Group – Brazilian Gastrointestinal Endoscopy Society (SOBED)

Prof. Diogo T. H. de Moura

MD, MSc, PhD

Brazil

  • Assistant professor of Gastrointestinal Surgery - Hospital Universitário Onofre Lopes
  • Chief of Endoscopy - Humanitare Unidade Medica

Flaubert Sena de Medeiros

MD

Brazil

  • Director of the Gastrointestinal Endoscopy Unit of the Hospital das Clínicas of FMUSP.
  • Associate Professor in Gastroenterology Department of University of Sao Paulo Medical School (FMUSP), São Paulo, Brazil.

Prof. Eduardo G. H. de Moura

MD, MSc, PhD

Brazil

  • CEO and medical director - New You Medical Center
  • Professor of Bariatric and Minimally Invasive Surgery, KSU
  • Past President - Pan Arab Society for Metabolic & Bariatric Surgery (PASMBS)

Prof. Aayed Alqahtani

FRCS, FACS

Saudi Arabia

  • Lecturer of Gastroenterology and Endoscopy -Theodor Bilharz Research Institute, Cairo, Egypt.
  • Visiting Consultant - Erasme Hospital, Brussels, Belgium.

Mostafa Ibrahim

MD , Phd , FASGE , FRCP (Glasg.)

Egypt

  • Prof. of Gastroenterology, Cairo University.

Hany Shebab

MD, FRCP

Egypt

  • Associate Professor in School of Medicine, University of Colorado

Shelby Sullivan

MD

United States

  • Professor of Surgery and Head of the Digestive Endoscopy Unit at the Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore
  • Scientific Director of the European Endoscopy Training Center at the Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore

Guido Costamagna

MD

Italy

  • Director of Endoscopy, Co-director of Center for Weight Management and Wellness, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston, MA
  • Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School, Boston, MA
  • Founding and Former Chair of Association for Bariatric Endoscopy (ABE)

Prof. Christopher C. Thompson

MD, MSc, AGAF, FASGE, FACG

United States

  • Associate Director of Bariatric Endoscopy and Program Director of Bariatric Endoscopy Fellowship, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston, MA
  • Instructor in Medicine, Harvard Medical School, Boston, MA
  • Advisory Board Member of Association for Bariatric Endoscopy (ABE)

Pichamol Jirapinyo

MD, MPH

United States

  • CEO and medical director - New You Medical Center
  • Professor of Bariatric and Minimally Invasive Surgery, KSU
  • Past President - Pan Arab Society for Metabolic & Bariatric Surgery (PASMBS)

Amit Maydeo

MS, FASGE

India

  • Founder and director of Mohak Bariatrics and Robotics

Mohit Bhandari

MS

India

  • Professor of Surgery, University of Strasbourg
  • Vice President – IRCAD, France
  • Director of Education IHU - Strasbourg

Silvana Perretta

MD

France

  • Director of Bariactic & Metabolic Endoscopy Department at Mayo Clinic, in Rochester, MN
  • Associate Professor at Mayo Clinic Medical College

Barham Abu Dayyeh

MD, MPH

United States

  • Co-director of the Mayo Clinic Developmental Endoscopy Unit (DEU)
  • Assistant Professor of Medicine

Andrew Storm

MD

United States

  • Assistant Professor of Medicine at Weill Cornell Medical College
  • Attending Physician at New York Presbyterian Hospital/Weill Cornell Medical Center

Reem Sharaiha

MS, MSc

United States

  • Director of Bariatric Endoscopy, Advanced Endoscopist, West Virginia University, Morgantown, WV
  • Associate Professor of Medicine West Virginia University School of Medicine

Shailendra Singh

MD, PhD

United States

  • Associate Professor of Surgery, Mayo School of Medicine and Science
  • Director of Bariatric Surgery Program
  • Accreditation surveyor for Bariatric Surgery Programs (MBSAQIP program)

Enrique Fernando Elli

MD, FACS, FASBMS

United States

  • Chair, Gastroenterology and Hepatology, Mayo Clinic Florida

Vivek Kumbhari

MD, MBChB, PhD

United States

  • Professor of Medicine and Chairman of the Departament of Gastroenterology at the Erasme University Hospital

Jacques Deviëre

MD, PhD

Belgium

  • Instructor and Member of the faculty of the European Endoscopy Training Center
  • Gastroenterology & Digestive Endoscopy Fondazione Policlinico GemelliRome, Italy

Ivo Boškoski

MD, PhD

Italy

  • Assistant of Department of Gastroenterology
  • Hepatopancreatology and Digestive Oncology, Erasme Hospital
  • Université Libre de Bruxelles, Brussels, Belgium

Vincent Huberty

MD

Belgium

  • Director of Endobariatric Endoscopy Program
  • Department of Gastroenterology
  • Rabin Medical Center

Steven P. Shamah

MD

Israel

Faculty - Moderators

  • Assistant Professor of Medicine – Hospital Clínicas Caracas.
  • Expert in endoscopic management of complications after bariatric, oncological and biliary surgery.
  • Dedicated to innovation and emerging endoscopic technologies (poem, g-poem, esd, fistulae closure, stenting).
  • Regional pioneer for confocal endomicroscopy.

Alberto Baptista

MD

Venezuela

  • Professor of Gastroenterology, and Head of the Endoscopy Division at Espiritu Santo University (UEES) School of Medicine

Carlos Robles-Medranda

MD

Ecuador

  • Director of of Therapeutic Endoscopy at Johns Hopkins Medicine
  • Associate Professor of Medicine at The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
  • Associate editor of the Fellows Corner section of Gastrointestinal Endoscopy

Mouen Khashab

MD

United States

  • Director of Bariatric Endoscopy, NY VA Harbor Healthcare System-Manhattan
  • Councillor for the Obesity, Metabolism, Nutrition Section, AGA Institute
  • Member, VA National Endoscopy Committee
  • Assistant Professor of Medicine, NYU Langone Health

Violeta Popov

MD, PhD, FACG

United States

  • Assistant Professor of Medicine – University Hospital Ostrava

Evzen Machytka

MD, MhD

Czechia

  • Consultant Bariatric and General Surgeon, Imperial College, London, UK.

Sherif Mohamed Hakky M. B.

MSc PHD FRCS (Gen.Surg)

Egypt

  • Associated Professor of Medicine, Division of Gastroenterology, Siriraj Hospital, Mahidol University
  • Program Director, World Gastroenterological Organization (WGO) endoscopy training program at Siriraj Endoscopy Center, Thailand
  • President of the Thai Association of Gastrointestinal Endoscopy (TAGE)

Nonthalee Pausawasdi

MD

Thailand

  • President-elect of AMPBSS
  • Chairman of the Hong Kong Society of Metabolic & Bariatric Surgery, and treasurer of the HKASO
  • Consultant surgeon in the Upper Gastrointestinal & Metabolic Surgery Division at the Prince of Wales Hospital
  • Honorary Clinical Associate Professor in the Department of Surgery at the Chinese University of Hong Kong

Simon Wong

MD

Hong Kong

  • Assistant Professor of Medicine and Surgery
  • Director of Bariatric Endoscopy
  • University of Michigan Hospital, Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology

Allison Schulman

MD, MPH

United States

  • Professor of Surgery, Harvard Medical School
  • President - Elect, International Federation for the Surgery of Obesity and Metabolic Disorders
  • Editor-in-Chief, Obesity Surgery Journal

Scott Shikora

MD, FACS, FASMBS

United States

  • Head of the Surgical Endoscopy Department
  • Head of the Interdisciplinary Obesity Center
  • University Hospital Würzburg, Germany

Christine Stier

MD

Germany

  • Clinical Director of Gastroclinic (Lisboa)
  • Specialist in Endoscopic Treatments for Obesity Fellowship in Advanced Endoscopy at HCFMUSP

Miguel Afonso

MD

Portugal

  • Endoscopist at Hôpital Privé des Peupliers (Paris)
  • Pionner in the field of endoscopic management of complications after bariatric surgery

Gianfranco Donatelli

MD

France

  • President of the Emirates Gastroenterology & Hepatology Society
  • Head of Endoscopy Department at Obaidullah Hospital

Maryam Al-Khatry

MD

UAE

  • Director of Endoscopic Bariatric Program, Thomas Jefferson University Hospital, Philadelphia, PA
  • Assistant Professor of Medicine, Sidney Kimmel Medical College of Thomas Jefferson University
  • Chief Medical Social Media Officer of Jefferson Health and Founding President, Association for Healthcare Social Media

Austin Chiang

MD, MPH

United States

  • Past-President of the Mexican College of Surgery, Obesity and Metabolic
  • CEO and Founder of the International Institute of Metabolic Medicine
  • President of global communications and Co-Founder of IBC International Bariatric Club - Oxford University
  • Professor of clinical medicine and surgery at Autonomous University of Baja California University IberoAmericana

Ariel Ortiz Lagardere

MD, FACS, FASMBS

United States

  • Director of Bariatric and Metabolic Endoscopy, University of Chicago Medicine
  • Assistant Professor of Medicine, University of Chicago Medicine

Christopher Chapman

MD

United States

  • Senior consultant and Head of Department, Gastroenterology, IPO Porto 
  • Invited Full Professor, Porto Faculty of Medicine
  • Past-President, ESGE
  • Co-Editor-in-Chief, Endoscopy

Mário Dinis Ribeiro

MD

Portugal

  • Introduced ESG to Australia in 2016 and has completed over 350 ESGs to date
  • Medical Director of The Bariatric & Metabolic Institute and The BMI Clinic, the largest bariatric endoscopy practice in Australia
  • Actively involved in clinical research of emerging devices and therapies in the field of bariatric endoscopy

Adrian Sartoretto

MD

Australia

  • Board Certified in Internal Medicine (USA, Guatemala), Gastroenterology (USA, Germany) and Infectious Diseases (Germany)
  • Fellow of the Japanese Gastroenterological Endoscopy Society (FJGES)
  • Co-Editor – Endoscopy Journal

Klaus Mönkemüller

MD, PhD, FJGES

Germany

  • Chief Esophageal and Gastric Surgery and Endoscopist – Hospital Alemán de Buenos Aires
  • Principal Investigator GI Windows (Incision-Free Anastomosis System) Trial

Rudolf Buxhoeveden

MD

Argentina

  • Chief of the Gastrointestinal Endoscopy Unit – General Hospital “Dr. Manuel Gea Gonzalez” Health Secretary, Mexico City
  • Coordinator: Obesity Clinic
  • Professor – postgraduate Course in Bariatric Endoscopy and Surgery

Martín Rojano

MD

Mexico

  • Associate Professor, Division of Gastroenterology, Yonsei University College of Medicine, Republic of Korea
  • Postdoctoral Researcher: Baylor University Medical Center and Harvard Medical School, USA
  • Director, Esophageal Cancer Center, Yonsei University College of Medicine, Republic of Korea

Sung Kwan Shin

MD, MS, PhD

Republic of Korea

  • Coordinator of the Bariatric Endoscopy unit of Centro Medico Teknon

Roman Turro Arau’s

MD

Spain

  • Head, Division of General and GI Surgery - Nova Scotia Health
  • Surgical Director Bariatric Program -Nova Scotia Health
  • Associate Professor of Surgery - Dalhousie University

James Ellsmere

MD, MS, FRCSC, FACS

Canada

Program


07:00 - 07:10 BRT
12:00 - 12:10 CEST
06:00 - 06:10 EDT
- Introduction of the event Bariatric Endoscopy Live Global
  • Eduardo G. H. de Moura

    Brazil

  • Christopher C. Thompson

    United States

  • Paulo Sakai

    Brazil

07:10 - 08:00 BRT
12:10 - 13:00 CEST
06:10 - 07:00 EDT
FROM MUMBAI (INDIA)
- Endoscopic Sleeve Gastroplasty (ESG)
  • Mohit Bhandari

    India

- Endoscopic management of a bariatric surgery complication
  • Amit Maydeo

    India

Moderators
  • Adrian Sartoretto

    Australia

  • Mário Dinis Ribeiro

    Portugal

  • Sung Kwan Shin

    Republic of Korea

08:00 - 08:50 BRT
13:00 - 13:50 CEST
07:00 - 07:50 EDT
FROM RIYADH (SAUDI ARABIA) / STRASBOURG (FRANCE)
- Revisional Endoscopic Sleeve Gastroplasty after Laparoscopic Sleeve Gastrectomy
  • Aayed Alqahtani

    Saudi Arabia

- Endoscopic revision of a gastrojejunal anastomosis after RYGB
  • Silvana Perretta

    France

Moderators
  • Maryam Al-Khatry

    UAE

  • Simon Wong

    Hong Kong

08:50 - 09:00 BRT
13:50 - 14:00 CEST
07:50 - 08:00 EDT
Tech Update

09:00 - 09:50 BRT
14:00 - 14:50 CEST
08:00 - 08:50 EDT
FROM CAIRO (EGYPT)
- Management of weight regain after RYGB with argon plasma coagulation (APC) + over-the-scope clip
  • Mostafa Ibrahim

    Egypt

- Endoscopic Treatment of Post Bariatric Leak
  • Hany Shebab

    Egypt

Moderators
  • Carlos Robles-Medranda

    Ecuador

  • Sherif Mohamed Hakky

    Egypt

09:50 - 10:00 BRT
14:50 - 15:00 CEST
08:50 - 09:00 EDT
FROM PETACH TIKVA (ISRAEL)
- Endoscopic sleeve gastroplasty (ESG) with ENDOZIP
  • Steven P. Shamah

    Israel

10:00 - 10:50 BRT
15:00 - 15:50 CEST
09:00 - 09:50 EDT
FROM ROME (ITALY) / RIYADH (SAUDI ARABIA)
- Endoscopic Sleeve Gastroplasty with OverStitch SX
  • Ivo Boškoski

    Italy

- Laparoscopic Sleeve Gastrectomy after ESG
  • Aayed Alqahtani

    Saudi Arabia

Moderators
  • Nonthalee Pausawasdi

    Thailand

  • Gianfranco Donatelli

    France

10:50 - 11:00 BRT
15:50 - 16:00 CEST
09:50 - 10:00 EDT
Tech Update

11:00 - 11:50 BRT
16:00 - 16:50 CEST
10:00 - 10:50 EDT
FROM FLORIDA (USA)/ROCHESTER (USA)
- Endoscopic and Surgical Management of Weight regain after RYGB (TORe + surgical extension of the Roux Limb)
  • Vivek Kumbhari

    United States

  • Enrique Fernando Elli

    United States

- OCG – Gastroplasty (a modification for ESG)
  • Barham Abu Dayyeh

    United States

  • Andrew Storm

    United States

Moderators
  • Rudolf Buxhoeveden

    Argentina

  • Evzen Machytka

    Czechia

11:50 - 12:00 BRT
16:50 - 17:00 CEST
10:50 - 11:00 EDT
Tech Update

12:00 - 12:50 BRT
17:00 - 17:50 CEST
11:00 - 11:50 EDT
FROM BRUSSELS (BELGIUM) / SÃO PAULO (BRAZIL)
- Endoscopic Sleeve Gastroplasty with Endomina
  • Vincent Huberty

    Belgium

  • Jacques Deviëre

    Belgium

- Silastic ring removal
  • Diogo Moura

    Brazil

Moderators
  • James Ellsmere

    Canada

  • Martín Rojano

    Mexico

12:50 - 13:00 BRT
17:50 - 18:00 CEST
11:50 - 12:00 EDT
Tech Update

13:00 - 13:50 BRT
18:00 - 18:50 CEST
12:00 - 12:50 EDT
FROM WEST VIRGINIA (USA) / RIYADH (SAUDI ARABIA) / SÃO PAULO (BRAZIL)
- Endoscopic Sleeve Gastroplasty (ESG)
  • Shailendra Singh

    United States

- Intragastric balloon removal
  • Eduardo G. H. de Moura

    Brazil

Moderators
  • Christine Stier

    Germany

  • Miguel Afonso

    Portugal

13:50 - 14:00 BRT
18:50 - 19:00 CEST
12:50 - 13:00 EDT
Tech Update

14:00 - 14:50 BRT
19:00 - 19:50 CEST
13:00 - 13:50 EDT
FROM BOSTON (USA) / NEW YORK (USA)
- Endoscopic Submucosal Dissection with suturing for treatment of weight regain (ESD - TORe)
  • Christopher C. Thompson

    United States

- Revisional Endoscopic Sleeve Gastrosplasty (Re-ESG)
  • Reem Sharaiha

    United States

Moderators
  • Ariel Ortiz Lagardere

    United States

  • Austin Chiang

    United States

14:50 - 15:00 BRT
19:50 - 20:00 CEST
13:50 - 14:00 EDT
Tech Update

15:00 - 15:50 BRT
20:00 - 20:50 CEST
14:00 - 14:50 EDT
FROM BOSTON (USA) / DENVER (USA)
- Sleeve in sleeve (Revisional POSE after Sleeve Gastrectomy)
  • Pichamol Jirapinyo

    United States

- Obalon
  • Shelby Sullivan

    United States

Moderators
  • Scott Shikora

    United States

  • Roman Turro Arau’s

    Spain

15:50 - 16:00 BRT
20:50 - 21:00 CEST
14:50 - 15:00 EDT
Tech Update

16:00 - 16:50 BRT
21:00 - 21:50 CEST
15:00 - 15:50 EDT
FROM SÃO PAULO (BRAZIL) / BOSTON (USA)
- Treatment of post bariatric surgery leaks with the Modified Endoscopic Vacuum Therapy
  • Diogo T. H. de Moura

    Brazil

  • Flaubert Sena de Medeiros

    Brazil

- Distal POSE (POSE-2) – Primary Obesity Surgery Endoluminal
  • Christopher C. Thompson

    United States

Moderators
  • Mouen Khashab

    United States

  • Klaus Mönkemüller

    Germany

16:50 - 17:00 BRT
21:50 - 22:00 CEST
15:50 - 16:00 EDT
Tech Update

17:00 - 17:50 BRT
22:00 - 22:50 CEST
16:00 - 16:50 EDT
FROM BOSTON (USA) / SÃO PAULO (BRAZIL)
- ROSE
  • Pichamol Jirapinyo

    United States

- Adjustable Intragastric Balloon Placement
  • Diogo Moura

    Brazil

Moderators
  • Violeta Popov

    United States

  • Christopher Chapman

    United States

17:50 - 18:00 BRT
22:50 - 23:00 CEST
16:50 - 17:00 EDT
FROM ROCHESTER (USA)
- ESG reversal
  • Andrew Storm

    United States

18:00 - 18:50 BRT
23:00 - 23:50 CEST
17:00 - 17:50 EDT
FROM DENVER (USA) / SÃO PAULO (BRAZIL)
- Aspiration Therapy
  • Shelby Sullivan

    United States

- Endoscopic Tunneled Stricturotomy for Sleeve Stenosis
  • Eduardo G. H. de Moura

    Brazil

Moderators
  • Alberto Baptista

    Venezuela

  • Allison Schulman

    United States

18:50 - 19:00 BRT
23:50 - 00:00 CEST
17:50 - 18:00 EDT
- Final Message
  • Eduardo G. H. de Moura

    Brazil

  • Christopher C. Thompson

    United States

  • Diogo Moura

    Brazil

Contact


Registration


    •  
    •